The Technical Vault
By SOSCleanroom
KIMBLE 60A10BZW
MARK-M
3 mL
10 x 75 mm
51 Expansion Glass
USP Type I
ASTM Type I Class B
White Ceramic Label
1-3/8 in Vertical
250 / Shelf Pack
1000 / Case
Technical overview: MARK-M glass tubes with permanent identification area
KIMBLE® MARK-M™ 60A10BZW is a 3 mL nominal clear borosilicate glass culture tube measuring 10 mm OD x 75 mm long. DWK's unique distinguishing feature is a white 1-3/8-inch vertical ceramic label permanently fused onto the tube, providing a writable identification area intended for use with pencil or laboratory marker.
The ceramic label is located approximately 3/4 inch below the open end. DWK also emphasizes uniform bottoms and consistent tube lengths. These are general laboratory tubes rather than certified volumetric instruments, sterile specimen collection tubes, or manufacturer-rated centrifuge vessels.
DWK currently calls the glass borosilicate 5.1; the KIMBLE Biological Science Guide uses the equivalent commercial description 51-expansion borosilicate and specifies USP Type I / ASTM E438 Type I, Class B. The manufacturer standard case contains 1,000 tubes, grouped as 250 per shelf pack.
Technical takeaway: The critical selections are white 1-3/8-inch vertical MARK-M label, 3 mL nominal capacity, 10 x 75 mm size, 51-expansion Type I Class B borosilicate glass, and 1,000 tubes/case. No matching cap is included in the manufacturer/distributor item descriptions.
Exact SKU specifications and purchasing controls
- Manufacturer: DWK Life Sciences
- Brand: KIMBLE® MARK-M™
- Catalog Number: 60A10BZW
- Product Type: Borosilicate culture/test tube with writable ceramic label
- Nominal Capacity: 3 mL
- Glass Color: Clear
- Glass Family: 51-expansion (5.1) borosilicate
- Manufacturer Glass Classification: USP Type I; ASTM E438 Type I, Class B
- Tube Outside Diameter: 10 mm
- Tube Length: 75 mm
- Label Design: Fused vertical ceramic marking area
- Marking Color: White
- Label Height: 1-3/8 inch (approx. 34.9 mm)
- Label Placement: About 3/4 inch (19.05 mm) below open end
- Writing Medium: Marker or pencil
- Bottom: Manufacturer describes sturdy, uniform bottoms; independent sellers identify round bottoms
- Closure Included: Not included according to independent manufacturer-SKU distributor listings
- Certified Volume Graduations: None specified
- Volumetric Accuracy: Not specified
- Sterility: Not marked sterile by DWK; independent sellers specify nonsterile
- Autoclave Cycle: No product-specific cycle published
- Centrifuge Force Rating: None published for this SKU
- Manufacturer Shelf Pack: 250 tubes
- Case Quantity: 1,000 tubes
- Supplier Purchase Unit: Case (CS)
- Supplier MTO / MTS: Made to Stock (MTS)
- Supplier Origin Record: United States
- Supplier Distribution Point: Mexico
- Supplier Shipping and Storage: Room temperature for empty tubes
The public product listing supplies the current dimensions, nominal capacity, label color, 250 shelf-pack count, and 1,000-unit case. The manufacturer guide supports the glass classification, ceramic label location, and related part-number matrix. Logistics values come from the supplier item-setup workbook.
51-expansion borosilicate glass versus 3.3-expansion Class A
This KIMBLE MARK-M family is made from 51-expansion (also described as 5.1) borosilicate glass. DWK and the KIMBLE guide identify it as USP Type I and ASTM E438 Type I, Class B. Both USP Type I and ASTM Type I Class B are relevant material descriptions; they are not the same classification system.
Another common laboratory glass is 3.3-expansion Type I Class A. Although both are borosilicate glass and may share a USP Type I designation, they do not have identical material composition, thermal expansion, or all physical properties. Do not apply technical values from a 3.3-expansion data table to the 51-expansion tube.
| Material item |
60A10BZW |
Important limitation |
| Glass family | Borosilicate 51 expansion | Not soda-lime |
| USP | Type I | Material classification, not sterility |
| ASTM E438 | Type I Class B | Not Class A |
| Glass appearance | Clear | No amber UV shielding |
| Thermal process | No validated SKU cycle | Do not assume autoclave conditions |
Classification checkpoint: The manufacturer's current SKU uses the name "borosilicate 5.1," while its technical guide describes "51 expansion." DWK also publishes general Class B clear-glass properties for other representative compositions; those values should not be silently treated as lot-specific measurements of this SKU.
Permanent ceramic writing area: 1-3/8 inches high, 3/4 inch from opening
The white vertical MARK-M ceramic label is fused into the exterior glass surface, creating an identification zone without requiring a paper label. DWK describes it as easy to write on with marker or pencil. Its white marking color is part of the specified manufacturer SKU and can help distinguish it from the blue, green, and yellow variants.
The manufacturer's length and placement are two separate specifications: 1-3/8 inches is the approximate length of the vertical label, whereas 3/4 inch from the open end describes its position. These should not be confused with the tube length of 75 mm.
- Marking Style: Vertical ceramic identification field
- Label Color: White
- Label Length: 1-3/8 inch, approximately 34.9 mm
- Label Offset: 3/4 inch (approximately 19.1 mm) from tube opening
- Application: Pencil or marker-written sample identification
- Attachment: Permanent ceramic marking fused to glass
- Not Provided: Printed graduated capacity scale, barcode, numerical volume markings, serialized ID
- Writing Durability: User-applied writing remains dependent on marker type, solvents, and procedure
The fused nature of the ceramic label does not establish the resistance of the handwritten ink to every solvent, cleaning cycle, or heat process. Test label legibility under the actual laboratory handling conditions.
White vertical label versus a white 3/4-inch banded label
DWK has two separate MARK-M labeling styles. 60A10BZW refers to the 1-3/8-inch vertical label, while 60A10BZXW is the distinct 3/4-inch banded marking area product with the same nominal 3 mL and 10 x 75 mm body dimensions. They should not be substituted automatically when a laboratory's labeling SOP specifies a particular writable geometry.
| Selection attribute |
60A10BZW |
60A10BZXW |
| Marking area | 1-3/8-inch vertical | 3/4-inch banded |
| Marking color | White | White |
| Nominal volume | 3 mL | 3 mL |
| Tube dimensions | 10 x 75 mm | 10 x 75 mm |
| Manufacturer case | 1,000 | 1,000 |
SKU control: The number ending BZW identifies this vertical-label version; BZXW is a different label format. Do not rely on the same tube size and white color to assume equal marking surfaces.
3 mL nominal capacity, 10 mm outside diameter, 75 mm length
DWK lists 3 mL capacity for the tube. That is a nominal commercial tube size; it does not establish certified working volume, brimful capacity, usable fill height, or any volumetric tolerance. The label is not a graduation. Exact liquid quantities should be measured with a calibrated pipette or other appropriate device.
The manufacturer lists 10 mm outer diameter and 75 mm length. Rack selection must account for support requirements, bottom shape, neighboring tubes, and any closure chosen separately. The manufacturer does not publish a wall-thickness tolerance, internal diameter, calibrated height, or total assembly dimension with cap for this SKU.
- Nominal Capacity: 3 mL
- Outside Diameter: 10 mm
- Length: 75 mm
- Internal Diameter: No SKU-specific value verified
- Recommended Working Fill: Method dependent
- Brimful Capacity: Not stated
- Calibration Tolerance: Not stated
- Tube-Rack Compatibility: Confirm rack manufacturer's supported 10 x 75 mm tube geometry
Measurement distinction: A 3 mL culture tube is not a Class A volumetric measuring device. No accuracy or graduation performance is established for the writing label or the glass tube.
Culture tube use and sample handling: intended applications versus qualifications
DWK describes the MARK-M family as glass culture tubes. The permanent label can be useful for sample identification in research, laboratory sample organization, teaching labs, and other workflows where a clear borosilicate tube is appropriate. It may also help track aliquots or cultures if the tube, closure, and process are otherwise qualified.
The term "culture tube" does not mean the tube arrives sterile or that it is automatically suitable for every living-cell culture method. Sterile media work, microbial cultures, and other contamination-sensitive procedures may require approved cleaning, sterilization, closures, and traceability controls.
- Sample Identification: Laboratory batch or sample number written on ceramic marking field
- General Laboratory Handling: Compatible liquids or solid materials in a small tube
- Research and Teaching: Prepared tubes for appropriately controlled experimental methods
- Cell or Microbiology Work: Only when cleanliness, sterility, and contamination control have been established
- Rack Organization: Visual white marking area aids handwritten tube identification
- Instrument Use: Verify separately against the instrument manufacturer
Opening, bottom geometry, and closure selection
DWK identifies the tube dimensions and label but does not provide a matching included stopper or screw-thread finish on the 60A10BZW product page. Distributor listings describe the item as without closure; they also identify a round bottom. Because separate retailers inconsistently describe the rim as "rimless" and "rim top," this listing does not assert a specialized beaded or rimless opening as a verified manufacturer property.
A culture tube with an open end is not a sealed storage container. If a closure is needed, identify a suitable cap or stopper using the tube's actual rim and mouth geometry, chemical exposure, handling procedure, and any sterilization requirements. No exact closure SKU or cap size is established by the reviewed manufacturer product record.
Cap/stopper limitation: Do not assume any 10 mm push-on or screw cap provides a validated fit or leakproof seal. No cap or stopper is included or qualified with this listing.
Nonsterile supply status, sterility and sample cleanliness
Independent product listings for the exact manufacturer number specify nonsterile, and the reviewed DWK SKU page does not include a sterile product designation. Therefore, SOSCleanroom should not advertise the tubes as sterile, gamma irradiated, depyrogenated, DNA/RNase-free, or ready to use without laboratory preparation.
A permanently fused ceramic label is not a sterile barrier. These are empty glass tubes and no lot-specific certificate for microbial cleanliness, endotoxin, particulate contamination, or sterility assurance has been established in the reviewed sources.
- Current Supplied Sterility: Not sterile according to exact-SKU distributor records
- Individual Sterile Barrier: Not established
- Endotoxin Limit: Not established
- RNase/DNase Levels: Not established
- Particle Cleanliness: Not established
- Pre-Washed/Precleaned: Not established
- Required Preparation: Follow the intended laboratory method and sample type
Processing boundary: If sterile culture work is required, develop and validate a preparation method. Glass material identity alone does not demonstrate sterile or aseptically packaged status.
Chemical resistance and sodium leaching: useful properties, not absolute guarantees
DWK states that borosilicate glass tubes have excellent chemical resistance against sodium leaching. This is an important material-selection distinction compared with many soda-lime glasses, particularly when sample purity or alkaline ion release is relevant. No exact sodium-release result, detection limit, or standardized leach-test value is published for 60A10BZW.
Borosilicate glass is generally useful for a range of laboratory liquids, but no glass is resistant to all chemicals. DWK's glass guide discusses limitations of borosilicate materials in contact with hydrofluoric acid, hot concentrated phosphoric acid, and strong alkaline solutions. Actual compatibility should be assessed for concentration, exposure time, temperature, and method sensitivity.
- Manufacturer Property: Resistance to sodium leaching is described, not quantified
- Glass Family: Borosilicate Type I Class B
- Check for: Strong alkali, fluoride-containing chemicals, prolonged storage and heat
- Method Sensitivity: Evaluate glass blanks and possible sample contamination for trace analysis
- Solvent Contact: Glass resistance is separate from any stopper or marker compatibility
- Surface Condition: Scratching, etching, residues, and handling may affect suitability
Chemical qualification: Do not claim zero sodium leaching, guaranteed elemental background, universal acid resistance, or certified inertness. Use application-specific test data when the result matters to the method.
Glass cleaning, inspection, and preparation
DWK's glassware care guidance recommends washing glassware before first use and inspecting each item for defects. The proper cleaning chemistry, rinsing medium, drying method, and acceptance tests depend on the intended work and the chosen marker or labeling technique.
- Inspect: Check glass walls, opening, and bottom for cracks, chips, scratches, or etching.
- Clean: Follow the laboratory's approved procedure; select chemicals compatible with borosilicate glass.
- Rinse: Use the method-defined water or solvent and avoid leaving interfering residues.
- Dry: Prevent recontamination and temperature shock.
- Label: Apply sample identification on the ceramic marking area using an approved marker or pencil.
- Protect: Handle in appropriate racks; do not stack loose tubes under impact loads.
- Verify: Apply any required blanks, sterility checks, or cleanliness tests for the sample method.
Because the white ceramic area is permanently fused, its function differs from a removable adhesive label. However, ink/pencil retention under chemical exposure or heating should be tested for the facility's specific use.
Heating, autoclaving, freezing and thermal shock: limits of available evidence
The 51-expansion borosilicate material has general thermal-resistance characteristics, but the reviewed manufacturer page does not provide a validated maximum tube temperature, approved autoclave cycle, freezing protocol, or allowable thermal-shock differential for the specific product. General thermal specifications from 3.3-expansion glass should not be transferred to this Class B material.
Any thermal processing of glass culture tubes also requires appropriate loading, heating, cooling, pressure relief and safe handling. An open glass tube, a separately selected stopper, and a sealed tube can behave differently during temperature changes.
- Manufacturer-Verified Autoclave Cycle: None established for 60A10BZW
- Maximum Operating Temperature: Not specified on the current product page
- Freezer/Cryogenic Use: Not qualified
- Thermal Shock Performance: No finished-product rating
- Closure in Thermal Process: Requires separate material and pressure review
- Label Writing Under Heat: User-applied marker durability not specified
Thermal safety: Do not advertise a particular 121-degree-C autoclave cycle, high-temperature limit, cryogenic rating, or validated reusable process without manufacturer-specific supporting information.
Centrifugation, equipment fit, and mechanical loading
DWK lists this item as a MARK-M culture tube, not as a centrifuge tube. The manufacturer does not specify a maximum relative centrifugal force (RCF), rotor compatibility, or mechanical strength rating for this exact SKU.
A tube that physically fits a rotor or adapter is not thereby qualified for centrifugation. Similarly, the specified 10 mm outside diameter does not establish compatibility with every automated rack, incubator holder, blood collection device, or other laboratory instrument.
Do not assign centrifuge ratings: Never transfer an RCF/RPM specification from KIMBLE disposable centrifuge tube families (such as 73790 or 73785) to MARK-M 60A10BZW. Select a manufacturer-rated tube for centrifugation.
Compare white, blue, green, and yellow 1-3/8-inch vertical MARK-M labels
The MARK-M 1-3/8-inch vertical-label family provides several marking colors at identical nominal dimensions. Colors can help operations organize workflows if the laboratory has established a labeling convention. They are not inherently indicators of sterility, chemistry, additives, or sample suitability.
| Manufacturer SKU |
Nominal capacity |
OD x length |
Label color |
Case |
| 60A10BZB | 3 mL | 10 x 75 mm | Blue | 1,000 |
| 60A10BZG | 3 mL | 10 x 75 mm | Green | 1,000 |
| 60A10BZL | 3 mL | 10 x 75 mm | Yellow | 1,000 |
| 60A10BZW | 3 mL | 10 x 75 mm | White | 1,000 |
Although these variants use the same nominal glass tube body and label geometry, the full manufacturer part number should be used in purchase orders, inventory records, and controlled product specifications.
Other 1-3/8-inch vertical-label tube sizes
DWK offers additional MARK-M tubes with the same vertical ceramic labeling concept. Changing size changes diameter, length, capacity, and potentially the suitable rack and closure. The manufacturer catalog lists 1,000 per case for the following variants.
| Manufacturer SKU |
Capacity |
OD x length |
Marking color |
Case |
| 60B12BZB | 5 mL | 12 x 75 mm | Blue | 1,000 |
| 60B12BZG | 5 mL | 12 x 75 mm | Green | 1,000 |
| 60B12BZL | 5 mL | 12 x 75 mm | Yellow | 1,000 |
| 60B12BZW | 5 mL | 12 x 75 mm | White | 1,000 |
| 60C13BZW | 9 mL | 13 x 100 mm | White | 1,000 |
| 60E16BZW | 14 mL | 16 x 100 mm | White | 1,000 |
Do not assume cross-size compatibility: Tube diameter and bottom geometry may affect rack fit, cap selection, heating, sample recovery, or instrument use. Verify exact specifications when replacing 10 x 75 mm tubes.
Receiving inspection and product identification
For case receiving, confirm the manufacturer SKU and labeling geometry before releasing the material to the laboratory. The 60A10BZW designation matters because the supplier file's image filename references a different green 5 mL tube, which should not be used as an unverified product-specific image for the white 3 mL variant.
- Read label: Verify DWK / KIMBLE MARK-M catalog number 60A10BZW.
- Verify body: Confirm 3 mL nominal capacity and 10 x 75 mm size.
- Verify marking: Check white 1-3/8-inch vertical ceramic writing field.
- Check packaging: Manufacturer specification is 250 per shelf pack and 1,000 per full case.
- Inspect glass: Look for chips, cracks, impact damage and irregular bottoms.
- Check supplied components: No cap/stopper expected as part of standard tube supply.
- Confirm suitability: Determine whether process-cleaning, sterility, material or sample-blank requirements are met.
- Document exceptions: Quarantine a mismatched color, damaged ceramic mark, incorrect tube size, or damaged package according to facility SOPs.
A product family photo may represent a different marking color and capacity. Do not rely on color alone without confirming the caption, physical appearance, and part-number match.
Supplier logistics: made-to-stock status and shipping records
The DWK Product Adds workbook identifies 60A10BZW as MTS (made to stock) and records a five-day supplier planning lead time. The same record indicates Mexico as a shipping location and United States as country of origin. A warehouse or shipping location is not necessarily the country where the product was manufactured.
The supplier data also list room-temperature handling for empty tubes. MTS is a stock classification, not a promise that stock is available for immediate SOSCleanroom shipment. A planned supplier lead time is not a quoted customer lead time.
- Supplier Purchase UOM: CS (case)
- Quantity per Case: 1,000
- Supplier MTS Status: Made to stock
- Supplier Planning Lead Time: 5 days (not guaranteed)
- Supplier Shipping Location: Mexico
- Supplier Country of Origin: US (verify if certificate required)
- Empty Product Shipping: Room temperature
- Empty Product Storage: Room temperature
- Shipment Packaging: Handle as fragile laboratory glass
Availability boundary: The public DWK product listing showed out-of-stock status when reviewed. Do not turn an MTS classification or five-day planning estimate into an SOSCleanroom stock or delivery guarantee.
Why lab teams select a permanent MARK-M identification surface
MARK-M's fused white vertical ceramic label offers a purpose-built field to write sample IDs directly on glass. The durable label substrate is different from an adhesive sticker, though the resistance of ink applied to it depends on the marking instrument and exposure conditions.
- Legibility: White marking area supports high-contrast writing with suitable markers.
- Identification consistency: Same vertical location across the product family.
- Reduced separate label handling: A writable region is already integrated into each tube.
- Available color variants: Blue, green, yellow and white for 3 mL vertical-label tubes.
- Defined physical format: 10 x 75 mm supports controlled rack setup.
- Material specification: 51-expansion borosilicate Type I Class B.
These are design benefits, not product-specific certifications of barcode readability, label permanence of handwriting, inventory traceability, tamper resistance, or sterility. Validate any automated identification system independently.
Technical FAQs
What is KIMBLE 60A10BZW?
A KIMBLE MARK-M clear borosilicate culture tube, 3 mL nominal, 10 x 75 mm, with a white 1-3/8-inch vertical fused ceramic marking field.
How many are in a case?
1,000 tubes, in manufacturer shelf packs of 250.
Is the marking label vertical or banded?
Vertical, 1-3/8 inches long. The white 3/4-inch banded style is a separate SKU, 60A10BZXW.
Where is the ceramic label?
The manufacturer describes the label as approximately 3/4 inch from the open end of the tube.
What can I write on the label?
DWK specifies marker or pencil. Test legibility and chemical resistance of the chosen writing method.
Is the label a graduated measurement scale?
No. It is a writable identification surface, not a calibration or volumetric graduation.
What glass is used?
51-expansion borosilicate, with USP Type I and ASTM E438 Type I Class B stated in the KIMBLE guide.
Is it 3.3-expansion glass?
No. The current product description uses 5.1 / 51-expansion borosilicate, which is a different ASTM Class B designation.
Are the tubes supplied sterile?
The DWK product page makes no sterile claim and independent exact-SKU distributor records designate them nonsterile.
Are caps supplied?
No matching closure is included in the confirmed distributor descriptions. Select any stopper or cap separately and verify fit.
What is the bottom style?
DWK highlights uniform, sturdy bottoms. Independent sellers describe round bottoms, but rim terminology differs between sources.
Can the tube be centrifuged?
No manufacturer RCF rating is established for this SKU. Use a rated product for centrifugation.
Is the nominal 3 mL capacity accurate enough for measurement?
No certified measuring tolerance is provided; use an appropriate calibrated device.
Is the glass autoclavable?
The current product listing does not establish an exact validated cycle for 60A10BZW. Obtain a tube-specific processing recommendation.
Does it resist sodium leaching?
DWK describes favorable resistance to sodium leaching as a material feature, without a quantitative SKU-specific test result.
Does white labeling mean sterile or additive-free?
No. Label color is an identification option, not proof of sterile processing or any particular additive formulation.
What does MTS mean?
Made to Stock is a supplier planning designation, not confirmation of immediate SOSCleanroom availability.
What is the difference from 60B12BZG?
60B12BZG is a separate 5 mL / 12 x 75 mm tube with a green marking field, not the 3 mL white tube.
Manufacturer technical references and qualification boundaries
DWK official technical guidance provides general principles, not a SKU-specific sterilization certificate, leach-test result, centrifuge rating, or confirmation of marker performance. The exact product page and KIMBLE manufacturer biological-science guide establish the identity, 10 x 75 mm dimensions, permanent label, glass classification, 250 shelf-pack quantity, and 1,000-unit case.
Why SOSCleanroom? Our team can help laboratories identify the correct KIMBLE MARK-M label size, glass class, tube dimensions, case quantities, and available technical documentation.
For quotations, stock checks and manufacturer documentation, email Sales@SOSsupply.com or call (214) 340-8574.
Last updated: October 29, 2026
© 2026 Specialty Optical Systems, Inc. (dba SOSCleanroom). All rights reserved.